What is Sacrament?

Introduction

It is easy to understand and accept what is perceivable by our senses but for something abstract, we often rely on symbolic means to help us understand its nature. The Church is an assembly of men and women, in order to have a clear view of God’s love and salvation, it also uses visible signs to represent God’s love for mankind which would otherwise be beyond our means to peruse. The Son of God took our human form and became the Son of Man, our mediator, to show us the love of God our Father has for us. In other words, we see God by living in Christ and we also find God through encountering Jesus. The Lord has told us that, “He who has seen me has seen the Father.” (John 14:9)

Encountering God in Sacraments

When Jesus was preaching the gospel of the kingdom, it was easy to learn from Him without obscurity as He explicitly demonstrated the love of God the Father, teaching the people how to pray, baptized, forgave sins and cured the sick. Seeing these in action helps us to experience the love of God and also brings us to an intimate encounter with God.

When Jesus was founding His Church, He anticipated what His believers will need in the future. They would not be able to talk to Him face to face nor listened to His voice as He gave sermons. Hence He has established the seven ‘sacraments’ for the Church so which help believers to understand and love God, sharing the grace God freely gives.

What is Sacrament?

The word ‘sacrament’ came from its Latin origin ‘Mysterion’, which implies mystical and confidential, which is now widely adopted as the ‘mystery in Christ’. Thus sacraments are what Christ left to His people in which they can encounter God and receive His grace. The meaning of sacrament is further prescribed by the following three points:

  1. that it is instituted by Jesus;
  2. it is well defined by its external form;
  3. those receiving the sacraments under appropriate condition of their souls will receive gifts and grace as imparted by Jesus.

Christ is the Sacrament of God the Father

Although we see sacrament as a way we are brought into communion with God the Father, for Christians, Christ is a sacrament as He has made God the Father who is not seen by our eyes visible on Himself. ‘He is the image of the invisible God, the first-born of all creation; for in him all things were created.’ (Col 1:15) Thus Christians believe the mystery of God the Father is revealed in Christ. Christ is visible, perceivable and accessible; by living interactively with Christ, Christians come in touch the invisible Father and the Holy Spirit. It is why we say Christ is the sacrament of God the Father.

The Church is the Sacrament of Christ

Christ instituted the seven sacraments for His Church but the Church itself is a fundamental sacrament in herself. Christ founded the Church to spread the good news, bringing grace to many, making those who believes in Him His family. Thus the mission of the Church is to continue the work of Christ in the world as well as being the continuation of Christ’s presence in the world. When the Church shows the world Christ through its instituted presence and its activities, allowing people to encounter Christ who is now invisible to our eyes, our Church becomes Christ’s ‘sacrament’.

The Seven Sacrament

The seven sacraments of the Church are Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. Through the use of signs and acts, Christ gives grace to His people. Each of the seven sacraments has its unique purpose and are administered for different needs of grace. Through Baptism we share the life of God and become His children; receiving Confirmation strengthened the new life we received; Holy Eucharist nurtures our spiritual life; Penance allows us to be reborn again in grace should we loss the life we have received; the Anointing of the Sick restores spiritual and physical vitality; Holy Orders transform one’s capacity in sharing the priestly role of Christ; Matrimony bestow a couple the gift of life creation with God’s blessings. Each sacrament gives a specific kind of grace and empower the life of the ones receiving it.

When the Church administer a sacrament, Christ will be present which makes the fruit of receiving it palpable. To put it shortly, the seven sacraments are precise answers to seven kinds of needs.

The nature of a Sacrament

‘The purpose of the sacraments is to sanctify men, to build up the Body of Christ, and, finally, to give worship to God. Because they are signs they also instruct. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen, and express it. That is why they are called “sacraments of faith.” They do, indeed, confer grace but, in addition, the very act of celebrating them most effectively disposes the faithful to receive this grace to their profit, to worship God duly, and to practice charity.’ (The Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy, Chapter III)

The passage implies that apart from sanctifying the recipient of the sacrament, it also also building the Church, in this we see a call to respond and also a mission. Besides, one must be a believer with faith to receive a sacrament in order to benefit from its effect, while through the act of receiving expressing and increasing one’s faith. Lastly, the grace conferred in a sacrament is not an elixir per se nor should it be compared with an illusionist’s trick, it should instead be taken seriously with the right preparation in order to transform its blessings into the love of God and our neighbours.

‘Grace’ is nothing but the merits of Christ as God sees it, which sublime nature is granted to mankind so that we may receive eternal life. There are two kinds of grace, sanctifying and natural. Sanctifying grace makes us the children of God through the suffering of Christ; actual grace is what Christ grant us according to our need in our work and living, when encountering difficulties or when we have to struggle to choose good from evil.

Grace is a supernatural gift which cannot earned by human effort, it is solely conferred by the discretion of God while its effect is beyond the reach of natural human capacity.

Sacrament and Liturgy

Jesus said, “For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I in the midst of them.” (Matthew 18:20) When Christians pray together and part of a celebration, Jesus will come among us and act as the bridge between heaven and earth. Apart from the seven Sacraments, the Church also provide other holy services including funeral rites, blessing of churches and homes which are called sacramentalia.

The Sacraments are instituted by Jesus Himself. Throughout the history of the Church, the form of administering the sacraments has undergone several changes, which shows the close relationship between the people of the era and the the need of the sacraments. It’s easy to recognize the unchanging face of Jesus Christ in the sacraments although change is constantly happening which may alter the external acts.

Sacramentalia were instituted through different periods of the past, which makes the prayer of the Church more closely in tune with the the social realities people have been experiencing. Although the sacramentalia are not exactly comparable with the seven Sacraments, they have certain similarities in the way they are structured, consisting of a visible part of the act an invisible part of spiritual enhancement.

Lastly, the liturgy of the Church includes the Mass, the seven Sacraments and sacramentalia (which includes funeral rites, blessing of churches and homes).

Conclusion

God is willing to express His love for mankind with an icon. This icon was established for the need of mankind, so that we may understand the love He has for us. In sacraments believers find themselves to be a group which experience the love of God both in spirit and body. The focus is on experience. In other words, faith is not only something abstract and supernatural but also something within our grasp and experience, something that can be lived and touched.

Hence ‘Sacraments not represent a new life but they also give us new lives. They do not merely referred to our salvation but also continue to save us. Not only do they remind us our closeness with our Lord but actually bring us into the Lord’s presence’.

Go to Top

 

Apart from daily Mass and Penance, our Church also provide the following services of Sacraments and sacramentalia to our parishioners:

資料來源:香港天主教教友總會「聖事總論」

聖事是甚麼?

前言

一般人都較容易接受具體可見的事物,對於抽象的東西,往往需要假助於一些象徵的事物,才能易於領悟。教會是由人組成的團體,對於明白、了解天主的愛和救恩,著實也要透過一些具體可見的「標記」,來表達天主對人類那看不見的愛。所以,天主聖子耶穌基督降生成人,來到我們中間,就是為了給我們顯示天父的愛。換言之,我們在基督的具體生活中,見到天父的愛;同時也在他身上與天父相遇。耶穌說過:「誰看見了我,就是看見了父。」(若 14: 9)

現在就讓我們看看,基督如何在教會內分施他的恩寵給所有信徒?用甚麼方法使信友們團結在一起?

在聖事中與天主相遇

在耶穌傳教期間 ,人們很容易從他身上學到許多東西。他直接地給人啟示天父的愛,教人祈禱,給信他的人付洗、赦罪、治病等等。從這一連串的行動中,我們自耶穌身上確實體驗到天父的愛,而與天父親密的接觸相遇。

當耶穌建立教會時,他體會到日後信徒們的需要。他們將沒有機會與耶穌面對面的談話,聽他的教導。於是,他在教會內建立了七件「聖事」,幫助人們認識、愛慕天父,並分享天父的恩寵。

聖事是甚麼?

「聖事」這名詞源出自拉丁化希臘字「Mysterion),意思是指「祕密」「機密」,如今引伸作為「在基督內的天主奧祕」之意。換言之,聖事是基督留給人,使人透過它而能夠與天主相遇,是分沾恩寵的途徑。要進一步瞭解聖事的意義,應注意以下三點:

  1. 是耶穌建立的
  2. 是有形可見的儀式
  3. 耶穌藉此儀式賦予聖寵神恩給善領聖事的人。

所以,聖事是天主透過教會而分施恩寵與信友的一個具體方法。

基督是天父的「聖事」

我們說聖事是使人與天父相遇的方法。為基督徒來說,基督本身是「聖事」,因為他把不可見的天父,在自己身上成為可見的。「基督是不可見的天主的肖像,是一切受造物的首生者。」(哥.1:15)  所以,基督徒相信天父的奧祕,在基督身上顯露出來。基督本身是可見、可聞和可接觸的;藉著與基督的交往,基督徒接觸到那不可見的天父和聖神。因此,我們稱基督是天父的「聖事」。

教會是基督的「聖事」

基督在教會內建立了七件聖事,但教會本身就是一件最基本的「聖事」。當基督建立教會時,他是要藉著教會將天主恩寵傳開去,廣及眾人,使人藉著教會而認識他,成為他的弟兄。所以,教會的使命是要延續基督和基督在世上的工作。當教會透過有形的組織和活動,給世界顯示出基督,使人接觸到不可見的基督時,我們稱教會是基督的「聖事」。

七件聖事

教會內有七件聖事,就是聖洗、堅振、聖體、修和、病人傅油、聖秩(神品)和婚配。基督以這七種神聖的標記和行為,把天主恩寵給人。其中的每一件聖事,都有它的不同意義,而分施獨特的恩寵。首先,聖洗聖事使人分享天主的生命,成為祂的子女;堅振聖事堅強人所分享的生命;聖體聖事則養活、滋養這生命;修和聖事則使失落這生命的人重獲生命;病人傅油使病人恢復精神肉體的健康;聖秩聖事使人以特殊的方式,分享基督的司祭職務;婚配聖事使夫婦二人與天主合作創造新生命。由此可見,每件聖事在人身上都賦予發展一種生命–恩寵的能力。

當教會舉行任何一件聖事時,基督都親自臨在那件聖事內,賦予該聖事的效果。總括來說,七件聖事是為適應不同需要而採取的七種不同方法。

聖事的本質

「聖事的目的是為了聖化人靈,建設基督妙身,並敬禮天主;但其外表儀式,也含有訓導作用。聖事不僅假定已有信德,而且以言語和事實來滋養、加強並表露信德,因而稱為信德的聖事。聖事不僅賦與聖寵,而且在其舉行之際,同時也盡善地準備教友實惠地領受所賦的聖寵,適當地崇拜天主,並實行愛德。」(禮儀憲章第三章)

從上文內容顯示:聖事本身除了聖化領受聖事者外,尚有建設教會的作用。可見在中包含了一個召叫和一個使命。其次,接受信仰,懷有信德的人,才能領受聖事,得到聖事的效能,更能藉此行動來表露和加深信德。最後,聖事中所賦予的聖寵,並非如仙丹靈藥般發生奇蹟、幻術的效果,而應妥善地幫助教友準備好以實際行動來敬禮天主,實行愛德。

所謂「聖寵」,是指天主看基督的功勞,賞賜人的超性恩惠,使人獲得永生。聖寵分為兩種:寵愛及寵佑。寵愛使我們憑著基督的苦難,得以成為天主的子女;寵佑是基督按我們的生活、工作,或是某種困境幫助我們行善避惡而賞賜的一種特別助佑。

聖寵是超性的恩惠,因為不是人本性的力量所能得到的,只有天主能賜給,而且它的效果也不是人力所能達到的。

聖事與禮儀

耶穌說:「那裡有兩個或三個人,因我的名字聚在一起,我就在他們中間。」(瑪18:20) 所以,當基督徒聚在一起舉行祈禱、慶典時,耶穌自己親臨於禮儀中,執行天人間橋樑的職務。教會內的禮儀,除了七件聖事外,尚有其他的禮儀:如殯葬禮,祝聖聖堂、聖屋等稱之為聖儀。

聖事是耶穌親自建立的。在教會的歷史中,聖事的禮儀經歷了不少變遷,這表示出聖事和每個時代的人有著密切的關係;但在這些變遷及不同之中,與耶穌基督有關的核心時常存在。

聖儀是教會在不同時代訂立的,用以使教會的祈禱能更深入人類的現實生活中。雖然這些聖儀絕對不可以和「七件聖事」相提並論,但它們的結構和聖事的結構相似,同樣包括可見的部份和靈修性質的部份。

總括來說,教會的禮儀包括了聖祭、七件聖事和團體祈禱(如殯葬禮,祝聖聖堂、聖屋等)。

結論

天主願意以一個記號來表達祂對人類的愛。這個記號是為了人的需要而設的;是天主向人類顯示祂的愛的一個方法。故此,在聖事中,信徒們形成一個身心都能經驗到天主的愛的團體。這裡所強調的是「經驗」。換言之,信仰不只是個抽象、超性的東西,且能夠實實在在地在現實生活中觸摸到、經驗到和生活出來的。

所以:「聖事不但指新生命,它們還給我們新生命。不但提及我們的救贖,還給予我們救贖。不但講到我們與主的親近,他就在聖事之內與我們共在。」

Go to Top

 

本堂區除每日舉行感恩祭及修和聖事外,亦為本堂教友提供以下相關聖事及聖儀的資料及服務: