History of the Parish and Guided Tour

The Hong Kong community has been witnessing the development of St Margaret’s Church since 1920.  In 1920, when Hong Kong was still an Apostolic Vicariate, the titular bishop Dominico Pozzoni wrote to the Hong Kong government, requesting for a parcel of land in Happy Valley for the building of a church in place of St. Francis’ Church in Wanchai, due to an increasing number of parishioners.  In the same year, the Holy See was to canonize St. Margaret. As such, the titular bishop decided to choose St. Margaret to be the Patron Saint of this church, the very first church in the East to have a female saint as her patron.

The lot at Happy Valley was bartered for the area of the church at western district with the government, while the money acquired for the lot of St. Francis’ Church was used to build St. Margaret’s ,apart from a portion allocated for funding the building of the new St. Francis Xavier’s Church.

On the 3rd of February, 1923, Bishop Pozzoni, together with the parish priest of St  Francis church and Fr Pietro de Maria, the priest to be appointed to St. Margaret’s church,  took part in the ceremony laying the corner stone for St. Margaret’s Church.  Two years later, on 25th of January, 1925, titular bishop Giovanni Spada held the Tridentine mass and the opening ceremony. On 2nd of January, 1949, St. Margaret’s Church was raised to the status of a parish. Since then, the Catholic Church in Hong Kong has undergone significant growth, not only in terms of the number of active parishioners but also with regard to the number of vocations.

On 2nd of January, 1949, St. Margaret’s Church was raised to the status of a parish. Since then, the Catholic Church in Hong Kong has undergone significant growth, not only in terms of the number of active parishioners but also with regard to the number of vocations.  The Happy Valley parish used to cover the area between Wanchai and Quarry Bay, the predecessor of St. Jude’s Church was St. Jude’s Chapel (located on No.2 Chung On Terrace, North Point) and it also fell under the St. Margaret’s Church parish. The number of catholics have been increasing significantly which created a lot of pressure for the Chapel, hence the Diocese established the North Point Parish and completed the building of the current St. Jude’s Church in 1957, which became the St. Jude’s parish.

The Happy Valley parish has had an close relationship with the Pontificium Institutum pro Missionibus Exteris (P.I.M.E.) since early on. Bishop Pozzoni who was instrumental in planning the building of St. Margaret’s Church was a missionary of the P.I.M.E himself. P.I.M.E. has provided much support and has also been a great influence in the development of the parish. Even after St. Margaret’s church was placed under the direct governance of the Hong Kong Diocese in 1971, Fr. Luigi Gambaro, a P.I.M.E priest, was assigned to our church right up until Rev. Fr. Peter Leung took office.

St. Paul’s Convent has also had an important role in the development of St. Margaret’s Church. Approved by the Convent, Christ the King Chapel has been hosting masses which accommodate the needs of a large number of parishioners. Apart from the CTK Chapel, the chapels at Rosaryhill School and Wah Yah College also belongs to St. Margaret’s parish.

The architectural style of St. Margaret’s Church is of Neoclassicism, its plans designed by Italian architect U. Gonella. The steps leading up to the front of the church were split into two tiers with seventeen in each. Four Doric columns support a triangular pediment at the porch in the fashion of a traditional Greek temple. A round window of floral motif design exists in the middle pediment with the words ‘The Church of God’ in Chinese inscribed in gold paint under it. On the two sides of the main entrance at the porch are two large statues, one of St. Peter holding a book in one hand and keys in the other, signifying the promise made by Jesus in authorizing his role in leading believers into the Kingdom of God. St. Paul on the other side, holds a sword in one hand and a book in the other, pointing to his spreading of the Gospel and also died under the sword for it. The main doors of grand scale and design and with its surmounting post over the steps, summons a sense of solemnity and drama which make St. Margaret’s church a popular choice of the wedding ceremony by believers.

Once inside the main doors, eyes are easily drawn to the vast cylindrical ceiling vault of Roman design origin, lined with rectangular coffered reliefs which gives a organized and harmonious feeling to the space. At the end of the cylindrical space is a semi spherical structure perforated with windows, bringing in natural light like an eye from above overseeing the believers inside. Before the liturgical reform, the wall at the back of the main altar in the centre, was a marble arch which commands respect and solemnity. In 1968 the church interior was renovated according to the spirit required of ‘ The Constitution of the Second Liturgy’ as laid down in The Second Vatican Council. A stone spiral staircase at the left of the altar leads to the bell tower inspires an elevating feeling, also added to the backdrop of the altar was a painting of Jesus’ revelation to the patron Saint Margaret.

The construction of the Amenities Building next to the Church was completed in 1985. Apart form the quarters for the priests and the office, there are also rooms for prayer, catechism class and meetings, a kindergarten and also a hall that can host seven hundred during functions. Not only does it provides an extra venue for conducting ceremonies for large groups, it also allows more activities to be conducted for the parish council established since 1970 and Associations of the Faithful, not to mention Catechism classes and Sunday schools to cater for more students.

In 1990 following the instructions of the Diocese, the laity was included into its parish council, thus allowing lay persons to work closely with the pastoral team and to be able to actively contribute to the parish. On the 90th Anniversary of the founding of the church, the parish, under the guidance of God, continues to live and bear witness to the faith. St Margaret’s Church has become an icon of this city, as Bishop Spada said ninety years ago during the homily in the Tridentine mass:

“Everyone should come to this church and give thanks and love to our Lord…..their good deeds, illustrious faith and passion will become beacons of light which bring hope and faith for the lost…..let us worship the Lord with joy and share with Him all that is in our hearts, participate in daily mass and holy communion; this way your souls will be renewed, cleansed and made strong, until the end of this life.”

With the grace of God, let us breathe new life into our legacy as we look forward to welcoming the Parish’s upcoming centennial celebrations and beyond!

堂區歷史簡介及導賞

聖瑪加利大堂可說是見證了本地教會的發展。香港在1920年仍然只是宗座代牧區,時任宗座代牧師多敏主教致函香港政府要求在跑馬地撥地建堂,以取代因教徒增多而不敷應用的灣仔聖方濟各堂。同年,普世教會將瑪加利大列為聖品,代牧區以聖人為新堂區主保,因此聖瑪加利大堂也是東方第一所以聖女為名的教堂。

跑馬地的地段是以西區教堂地段與政府交換得來的,而出售聖方濟各堂舊址地段所得款項,除部份用以興建紀念聖方濟各沙勿略的新堂外,餘款則用作建設聖瑪加利大堂的經費。

師主教、聖方濟各堂主任神父及聖瑪加利大堂的候任本堂主任翟神父於1923年2月3日主持了聖瑪加利大堂奠基禮,並在約兩年後(1925年1月25日)落成,由當時的署理宗座代牧德神父主持大禮彌撒及啟用儀式。

聖瑪加利大堂於1949年1月2日升格為堂區,此後香港教務發展迅速。以往跑馬地堂區所包括的範圍是由灣仔直至鰂魚涌的;聖猶達堂的前身聖達竇小堂(位於北角中安台2號)從前便附屬於聖瑪加利大堂區。後來北角區之公教人口激增,原有小堂不敷應用,教區遂成立了北角堂區,於現址興建聖猶達堂,並在1957年底正式落成,同時升格為聖猶達堂區。

跑馬地堂區其中一個特點,是和宗座外方傳教會有著深厚淵源。計劃興建聖瑪加利大堂的師主教本身便是宗座外方傳教會傳教士;而在1930年世界經濟大蕭條,香港教會無可避免受到波及,由於代牧區財政緊拙,宗座外方傳教會便從總會撥入資金以作支援。到了1933年,羅馬傳信部應時任代牧恩理覺主教的要求,批准宗座外方傳教會在聖瑪加利大堂神父宿舍設立該會的財務辦事處,同時聖瑪加利大堂牧靈工作亦交由財務辦事處的神父負責。宗座外方傳教會對堂區的發展有重要的影響和支持,就是在1971年正式宣佈聖瑪加利大堂交由香港教區負責後,仍由宗座外方傳教會的金普仁神父出任司鐸,直至1988年第一位國籍神父梁達材神父接任為止。

堂區的另外一個重要的夥伴為沙爾德聖保祿女修會。蒙修會特許,開放銅鑼灣聖保祿修院的基督君王小堂作主日彌撒之用,大大增加了堂區主日可容納教友的數目。目前,除基督君王小堂外,屬於堂區範圍內的小堂還包括玫瑰崗學校小堂及華仁書院小堂。

跑馬地聖瑪加利大堂的建築風格為古典復興主義,圖則由意大利建築師幹尼剌(U.Gonella)設計。聖堂前寬濶的石級分為兩層,每層各有十七級。聖堂的門廊由四條石柱頂著一個山形拱,是傳統的希臘式的殿堂門面。山形拱正中有一個圓花窗,下方刻有 「天主教堂」四個漆金字。門廊內兩邊有巨型雕像,聖伯多祿一手持書,一手拿著鑰匙,表示耶穌許下給他帶領人進入天國的途徑。聖保祿一手持劍,另一手持書,代表他宣揚福音,亦為福音在劍下殉道。堂皇的正門前廊及寛濶和高聳的石級,擁有極莊嚴又富情調的場景,因此,很多信徒都會選擇在這裏舉行婚禮。

進了聖堂正門,最令注目的是天頂羅馬式的筒形穹窿,整齊地排列著長方形的浮雕小格子,穹窿給人勻圓及和諧的感覺,浮雕小格子卻顯示出秩序。筒形穹窿最前端有一透光半圓形的格子窗,就像一隻天上的眼睛,正垂顧著聖堂內的信眾。禮儀改革前,正祭台緊靠著聖堂最前方正中的牆,連著祭台的是雲石牌樓,給人莊重威嚴的感覺。1968年聖堂內部曾作改革裝修,以符合梵蒂岡第二次大公會議通過的《禮儀憲章》的精神。祭台的左邊有螺旋石級由鐵欄杆護著直上鐘樓,給人向上提升的感覺,而祭台後則是一幅耶穌顯現給聖堂主保聖瑪加利大的畫像。

堂區另一個發展契機是聖堂旁邊於1985年落成的堂區中心。除了神父宿舍及辦公室,堂區中心內還有祈禱室、傳道室、會議室、幼稚園和可容納七百人的禮堂。它不單為大型典禮提供一個多用途的場地,也讓自1970年成立的堂區議會及一眾善會有更多的活動空間,更讓慕道團和主日學可收納更多的慕道者和主日學學生。

1990年堂區依從教區指引,率先將堂區議會改為牧民議會,使牧職團能具體地偕同教友承擔及分享堂區的牧民工作。到了今年慶祝建堂90週年,整個團體在天主的帶領下,不斷實踐和見證信仰,已成為許多教友的另一個家,也是區內鮮明的標記,一如在九十年前大禮彌撒中講道時署理宗座代牧德神父的訓勉:

這是公教生活,靈魂得福和得救的新中心。眾靈應當前來本堂,向主奉獻愛與感謝……他們的榜樣、光輝的信德、無比的熱誠,將為其他失落者,求得光照和信德大恩……讓我們帶著喜樂前來朝拜主,把心中一切向衪傾訢,並盡力每天望彌撒及領聖體;這樣,你們的靈魂必得更新、潔淨和堅強,直到塵世完結之時。

靠天主的恩佑,願我們一起承先啓後,邁向百年和更悠遠的時日!

天主教香港教區  歷史建築探索 ~ 聖瑪加利大堂